BiS: BusinessInSavannah.com - Business news for the creative coast.

Blogs

Susan Catron's picture
Submitted by Susan Catron on Mon, 11/12/2012 - 6:03pm
Gale Baldwin's picture
Submitted by Gale Baldwin on Thu, 11/08/2012 - 3:13pm
Leo McKittrick's picture
Submitted by Leo McKittrick on Wed, 10/31/2012 - 10:35am

The Differences Between A 401(k) and A Roth IRA

They are both great plans for helping you save money for retirement. Which one is better depends upon your situation and your preferences. I’ll present information about the two types of retirement accounts and let you decide which one is best for you.


You have the option to contribute money to both plans, if your goal is retirement savings.

Leo McKittrick's picture
Submitted by Leo McKittrick on Fri, 10/26/2012 - 11:16am

Exceptions to the Early Withdrawal Penalty on an IRA or 401(k)

McKittrick & Associates do not provide legal or tax advice. We want you to have the necessary information to make an informed decision. We strongly suggest that you seek professional advice.

Leo McKittrick's picture
Submitted by Leo McKittrick on Thu, 10/18/2012 - 11:49am

Traditional IRA vs Roth IRA

Traditional IRA Profile
1· Tax deductible contributions (depending on income level - See IRS Publication 590 for more information)
2. 2011 contribution limit is $5,000 for individuals under age 50 and $6,000 for those 50 years old or older as of the end of the year (December 31st).
3· Withdraws can begin at age 59 1/2 and are mandatory at 70 1/2.
4· Taxes are paid on the earnings and the contributions you made to the IRA when withdrawn from the IRA
Gale Baldwin's picture
Submitted by Gale Baldwin on Wed, 10/17/2012 - 1:56pm
Shawndra Russell's picture
Submitted by Shawndra Russell on Sun, 10/14/2012 - 11:27am
Leo McKittrick's picture
Submitted by Leo McKittrick on Wed, 10/10/2012 - 2:47pm
Shawndra Russell's picture
Submitted by Shawndra Russell on Tue, 10/09/2012 - 3:58pm
Chris A White's picture
Submitted by Chris A White on Fri, 10/05/2012 - 12:00pm
Adam Van Brimmer's picture
Submitted by Adam Van Brimmer on Fri, 10/05/2012 - 8:23am
Gale Baldwin's picture
Submitted by Gale Baldwin on Thu, 10/04/2012 - 2:16pm
Gale Baldwin's picture
Submitted by Gale Baldwin on Wed, 10/03/2012 - 11:41am
Leo McKittrick's picture
Submitted by Leo McKittrick on Wed, 10/03/2012 - 10:20am
Adam Van Brimmer's picture
Submitted by Adam Van Brimmer on Mon, 10/01/2012 - 9:48am

State colleges feeing us to death

A person well aware of my reservations about rising college costs and my skepticism over Georgia Southern’s pending move to college football’s top level approached me over the weekend with this question.

Mary Carr Mayle's picture
Submitted by Mary Carr Mayle on Thu, 09/27/2012 - 7:40am
Adam Van Brimmer's picture
Submitted by Adam Van Brimmer on Thu, 09/20/2012 - 8:50am